Styling the Seasons - March

 
It's time for a little Styling the Seasons with Apartment Apothecary and Lotts and Lots. This months styling is a bit different. I may have broken the rules a little bit, Ooops! The styling for each month is to reflect what the month means to me and therefore style a surface in my home. I got kind of bored of my windowsill in my small student accomodation so this months styling is more about styling myself. 
 
March is the first official spring month and I think I don't only speak for myself when I say that when spring arrives you get that feeling that you want to change something, like your hair style or why not sweep out your wardrobe and fill it with stuff that that reflects what your feeling at the moment. I'm tired to be covered up in dark winter clothes and have been thinking about that hair cut with bangs for a couple of weeks now. Yup! Someone recognize themselves? I thought it would be perfect to make March more about styling me. So I started with the hair style. After a lot of thinking a colorful bow was a good way to start.
 
 
I thought it would be nice to write down a pattern for my bow i someone wanted to make a March bow for themselves. So here we go! (US termss on the pattern)
 
You need a nice colorful yarn. I chose the Debbie Bliss cotton DK in the colour "dusty pink" or "13072". I used the crochet needle 3,5 mm, a bit to small for the yarn maybe but it went alright.
 
Pattern:
 
Ch12
Row 1: 1sc in the second ch from the needle. Continue with 1sc in every ch. turn (10)
Row 2: sc in every sc. turn (10)
Row 3-50: sc in every sc.
 
 
 
When you're finished with the sc part you make sl st around the the whole piece until you come to back to the beginning of the last row, that will say 3/4 of the piece Se picture above.
 
When you have crocheted sl st around 3/4 of the piece you fold it double and crochet the piece together so you get one round piece. Make sl st in the outer stitch of both sides. See image below. When you have crocheted the piece together, save a long piece of thread for later.
 
 
 
Now fo the middle part of the bow.
 
Pattern:
Ch15 and sl st in first st to make a ring.
Row 1: 1sc in each ch (15)
Row 2: 1 sc in each sc (15)
Row 3: 1 sc in each sc (15)
Take of the yarn and sew in the threads.
 
Now back to the big piece. Press the middle together and sew it together with the thread that you saved. See image below.
 
 
Put the small ring around the bow and voilá! You just made yourself a nice March crochet bow :).
 
Of course the measurements can be different for different yarns but it is easy to just add some ch in the beginning or make a few more rows to make it suitable for the yarn that you choose.
 
To fasten it in my hair i used "bobby pins".
 
 
So that's my different and springish Styling the Seasons March. I hope it was okay that I broke the rules hehe..
 
Happy crocheting!
/Tina
 
Allmänt, Mönster, Virkat | allt om kerstin, alltomkerstin, crochet pattern, styling the seasons | |
Upp